FO – Lace Leaf Hat

I just finished knitting my first lace pattern hat (really my first lace garment whatsoever) and I have become addicted. I chose the Lace Leaf Hat pattern by Sophy Ting that I found on Ravelry, which is a free pattern. Ravelry, for those of you who are not familiar with is basically yarn and pattern heaven. If you do not have an account there, I strongly suggest you make one, because there are thousands of patterns and it’s the perfect place to look for inspiration. But talking about Ravelry would be a post on its own, so I will leave that for another day…

I chose this pattern to begin my journey into lace knitting because I really wanted to learn how to make those tiny leaves that I kept seeing everywhere, and because it was designed to be knit in worsted weight yarn, which happens to be my (current) favourite yarn weight to knit hats… Those of you who follow me on Instagram might have noticed that I have been in a hat knitting frenzy this autumn/winter season!

I made this hat for my colleague’s mom, who just underwent surgery for a breast cancer and is going through chemotherapy now. I really can’t imagine what she’s going through, but if I could help her feel a little better I would be really happy. So I thought I could knit her a hat!

I happened to have two skeins of Drops Big Merino in the Marble (08) colourway in my stash, that I thought would suit the pattern perfectly…

FO-laceleaf-01

Drops Big Merino is a superwash-treated 100% Merino Wool yarn. It’s amazingly soft and so fluffy, and warm but airy. Combined with a lace pattern… perfect for the begining of the spring! And even though I wasn’t convinced the lace would show well with such a thick thread, you’ll see what convinced me below…

I also wasn’t sure about the twisted K1/P1 ribbing (knitting and purling through the back loop) but I stuck to the pattern and I think it goes really well with it. A classical K1P1 ribbing (my favourite) would shrink the edge and the lace pattern would not show so well. As I was knitting it, which was totally addictive because the lace pattern alternates easy increases and decreases with all-knit rows, it seemed to give quite a textured fabric. But the leaves were there, and that made me oh so happy!

But, as you can see, it seemed too bulky! I knew that wearing it would stretch the fabric and make it look more even. But of course that was before blocking it… Normally I wouldn’t block my hats very aggresively, because I like the ribbing tight. So what I would do is place it in a balloon and dampen it a bit, but not fully immerse it. The hats that I have made for me, with superwash wool, I have indeed put in the washing machine and laid flat to dry.

But I have never seen this much difference before… Today I saw the magic of blocking appear before my eyes!

And what a difference! A picture speaks a thousand words… So judge for yourselves! Yes, it’s the same hat. Before and after blocking. I just put it in the washing machine, in a short cold program and then laid flat to dry, making sure I wasn’t stretching the ribbing.

The only thing I’m not very happy about is how the cast on looks, I usually like this for my K1P1 ribbed hats, but I’m not convinced about it with this twisted ribbing… I might try another one if I ever knit this again.

So, what do you think? Have you experienced any miracle blocking too? How do you usually block your hats?

If you want to see my project on Ravelry, click here.

Happy Sunday and happy knitting!

Erika (LoareKnits)

 


Hoy os enseño mi primera prenda acabada en el blog. He tejido el Lace Leaf Hat de Sophy Ting, un patrón gratis en Ravelry. Otro día hablaré más sobre Ravelry, pero si no tenéis una cuenta… ¡Deberíais hacerla! Porque hay miles de patrones (muchos de ellos gratis) y es mi sitio preferido para buscar inspiración. Es el primer gorro que he tejido con un punto calado, pero me ha encantado. Tenía muchas ganas de aprender a tejer esas “hojas” que veía en todas partes, y no ha sido tan difícil como pensaba. Lo he tejido en mi lana preferida para los gorros, la Big Merino de Drops. Y lo que más me ha gustado es ver cómo cambiaba el patrón después de bloquear la prenda (que lo único que he hecho es meterla en la lavadora en un ciclo corto en frío y secarla en horizontal, asegurándome de no estirar mucho el borde). Es una prenda muy especial porque es para la madre de una compañera de trabajo que acaba de ser operada de un cáncer de pecho y ahora empieza la quimio… ¡Pensé que un gorrito tal vez le ayudaría a sentirse un poco mejor durante la recuperación!

Puedes ver mi proyecto en Ravelry aquí.

¿Y tú, cómo bloqueas tus gorros? ¿Has experimentado la magia del bloqueo recientemente?

Feliz domingo, happy knitting!

Erika (LoareKnits)

3 thoughts on “FO – Lace Leaf Hat

  1. Beautiful hat! Congrats on your very first lace project! Blocking does magic, doesn’t it! I used to avoid blocking by all means, thinking it was postponing the joy of a finished project. But once I tried to do everything properly and block my sweater, oh my! What a difference! I never leave my projects unblocked!

    Like

    1. Thank you Alina! I am so happy with it! And with all that I’m learning… It was not so much that I didn’t want to block my knits, but the fact that I was afraid to stretch the hats (which is what I’ve knit the most!)… But I’m now starting to appreciate it even more. I’m planning to knit a shawl soon, and I can see how important blocking is for lace patterns… But you’re right, for any kind of knit garments too! Even sweaters! I think “doing the right thing” pays off in the end… Doesn’t it? Same with swatching (which I should do more often! ahem!) Happy Sunday! And happy knitting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

